Head in the Clouds and Feet on the Ground

I recently had occasion to visit a dear friend out-of-state, and, due to the distance, I opted to fly. On the way home, the skies were predominately overcast. This afforded me a breathtaking view of the clouds when flying at 30,000 feet, and gave me a thought-provoking perspective as my flight came in for a landing.

While flying above the clouds, I enjoyed a gorgeous view! One of the photos I took is seen below:

And by no means does this photo even begin to do justice to the grandeur of the view I enjoyed out the tiny airplane window!

~

After landing though, the view was more like this:

(Photo compliments of an obliging website) As Winnie the Pooh would say, “Tut, tut. It looks like rain.”

~

I was struck by how much beauty was created by the cloud cover, and also by the fact that I couldn’t see any of it from the ground. I thought about that old adage regarding the person who lives “with their head in the clouds” as referring to someone who’s mind is filled with fluff, and has no concept of reality. However, I could also see that if a person is infinitely practical, and keep their feet planted so hard on the ground, how they would miss a great deal of beauty that is just out of sight.

I then thought that if we didn’t have these gloomy-looking skies, we’d have no rain, and the beauty down here would die (flowers, trees, animals, etc.). The ‘gloom’ has a purpose. It brings strength to living things. Like fire refines metals, rainy days bring life-giving water. And when the sun breaks through the clouds, we rejoice that our flower gardens are blooming.

I think Christ allows gloomy days in our lives to bring us strength, and let our Faith grow. I am going to try to mentally grow a few thousand feet tall, so I can keep my feet on the ground, and yet have my head in the clouds, or better yet, in Heaven. Accept the rain, but remembering that above it, the sun (Son!) is still shining.

“The Heavens declare the Glory of God, and the firmament proclaims His handiwork!” -Psalm 19:1

About Mary's Ghillie

Why Mary's? Because she is the best example of how to live a life worthy of Christ. Why Ghillie? It's an old Celtic word for servant. I'm Mary's Ghillie!

Posted on January 15, 2012, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is beautiful! And a great goal! I think I shall be joining you in eating spiritual Miracle-Gro.

What are your thoughts?

