“I Want Some!”

“Amen I say to you, whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, shall not enter into it.” Mark 10:15

What exactly does it mean to “receive the kingdom of God as a little child?” Well, go find a little child, and watch!

I am blessed to have daily Mass close by, and attend as frequently as I am able. There is a young mother who also attends often, and she always brings her young son (about 2 or 3 years old) with her.

Today, he was laying on the pew behind his mother during the moments after the Consecration. As Father prayed the rest of the prayers, the little boy looks up, and whispers, “Jesus!” just enough to be heard a few pews back. The Faith of a child… I thought, smiling, then turned my thoughts back to the Mass. Just after the Lamb of God, the little guy starts tapping on his mothers arm, and, pointing to the elevated Host, he whispered, “I want some!” His mother gently smiled, pointed to the altar, and whispered into her son’s ear. When they went up for Holy Communion, the little guy received his usual blessing with the most beautiful look of awe on his sweet face. After returning to the pew, he looked around, and then followed his mother’s example by kneeling down and bowed his head for a moment.

This little boy was not distracted by what others thought of him, how strong he was, how much money he would make, or even where his next meal would come from. He just knew that Jesus was close by, and adored Him as only a child can.

I was so moved by the sweet reverence and devotion displayed by the tyke that couldn’t help but repeat the child’s little prayer to my Master Who was dwelling physically in my heart, “Jesus, I want some, too!”

 

“Let the children come to Me, and do not prevent them, for the kingdom of Heaven belongs to such as these.” Matthew 19:14

I can see why, Jesus… I can see why…

 

 

About Mary's Ghillie

Why Mary's? Because she is the best example of how to live a life worthy of Christ. Why Ghillie? It's an old Celtic word for servant. I'm Mary's Ghillie!

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Eucharist. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow. That is precious, priceless, and a pure example of childlike innocence and faith. Thank you. :)

  2. In due time, you will make some
    child a great mother. Come visit,
    I have again written to our Mother.
    Yours in Christ, Brady

What are your thoughts?

