Don’t Cry, Little One – Monday of Holy Week

I’ve been trying hard to find ways of uniting myself with Christ and live this Holy Week WITH Him, instead of just watching. Sometimes when I receive Holy Communion, Jesus gives me an image to meditate on. Today during Mass, as I received His Body and Blood, the image of a scared child filled me. It was Jesus, about 1 or 2 years old, scared to death, and clinging to me fiercely. He could see the suffering, the scourging, and the cross… and He was so afraid!

All I could do was hold Him. I knew I couldn’t say I’d protect Him; I’m nowhere near strong enough. I couldn’t say it was a bad dream; it was very, very real. I couldn’t even say I would live it with Him; I know my soul is such a coward, the only way I could live it is through His grace.

It tore my heart from my chest to experience Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Lover, my LORD, crying and scared, as a small child. We know from the Agony in the Garden that His sweat became great drops of blood… In order for that to happen, biologically speaking, blood pressure is so high that the heart actually bursts. His heart broke before the first lash of the whip struck His sacred flesh.

Comfort your Lord Jesus this Holy Week as He prepares for the Cross.

Song: Mary From Thy Sacred Image – Meditation on the image of Our Lady of Perpetual Help

About Mary's Ghillie

Why Mary's? Because she is the best example of how to live a life worthy of Christ. Why Ghillie? It's an old Celtic word for servant. I'm Mary's Ghillie!

Posted on March 25, 2013, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What are your thoughts?

