The Living Word – Wednesday of Holy Week

Ever heard that saying, “You are the only Bible some people will ever read?”

Well, sad as it may be that more people don’t read Scripture, it’s true. I confess to not reading nearly as much as I ought to, but the excuse I give my Spiritual Director is that I get plenty of the good stuff at daily Mass. (I mean after all, 4,591% of the Mass is a direct quote from Scripture, and the parts that aren’t allude to it!)

I had a pretty stark sip of reality last Thursday (can’t say that I recommend the stuff…tastes like tar…), and I realized how true that old saying is. My dear friend Brianna (to whom I just realized I owe a blog post or five) was telling me about a conversation with a coworker. Bri had just passively made the comment that she’d be clocking out early Friday so that arrangements could be made for her absence. Now Bri, much like myself, is pretty obviously NOT the go-out-get-wasted-on-the-weekends type, so her short workday at the end of the week caused a slight arousal of curiosity. Bri shared that she’d be going to Good Friday Services (yes, it IS a service… it’s the only day of the year there is NOT Mass in the Catholic Church), then staying in town to see Mel Gibson’s “The Passion of the Christ” with students from the local University. Her coworker went on to ask what the story was, anyway. She’d never heard it.

Once Bri got over the shock at meeting someone in EAST TEXAS (aka, the “Bible Belt”) who’d not heard the story, she invited her to come along.

After talking about it together, I realized that the way Brianna lived and worked was giving a beautiful testimony to her Faith in Christ and His Church. She was the Word of God that her coworker could read.

When we write the Word of God on our hearts, and most importantly, LIVE like its written there, we are being missionaries to a spiritually third-world country. I think we ought to follow the beautiful example of Mother Teresa to serve the poor on our street and at our door: the Poor in Spirit.

“It has been made manifest that YOU are the Epistle of Christ, ministered by us, and written down, not with ink, but with the Spirit of the living God, and not on tablets of stone, but on the fleshly tablets of the HEART.” 2 Corinthians 3:3 (emphasis added)

About Mary's Ghillie

Why Mary's? Because she is the best example of how to live a life worthy of Christ. Why Ghillie? It's an old Celtic word for servant. I'm Mary's Ghillie!

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Being Catholic. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s so Brianna. Lol. :] I was just talking about her to a friend today and this is basically what came out. So smart and well-versed in most (likely all) things Catholic (which includes the Bible). :D

What are your thoughts?

