Overflow In Me

In prayer a few weeks ago, I asked for graces for a few things going on in my life. Eyes closed, I envisioned “grace like rain” falling on me from Heaven. I opened my hands to receive it, but as my hands filled to capacity, I started to panic! Frantically, I searched with my mind to find something that could hold the excess. I mean, this is GOD’S GRACE! You can’t WASTE the stuff!!! It didn’t stop raining down on me though, and my hands were not enough to hold the abundance I was being given. I was beside myself! The ‘grace-like-rain’ filled up my hands and ran out between my fingers and onto the ground. I looked up, beseeching this waste of precious grace to STOP! Couldn’t God see I had all I could hold?!

I cried out to Mother Mary, and she smiled down at me and the state of panic I was in. She looked up to the One that the Graces were coming from. As my gaze followed hers, I saw no end… It was infinite. Infinite. I didn’t really understand though; I was still upset about the ‘wasted grace’ making mud at my feet.

It slowly sunk in though… When something is endless, there’s no such thing as waste. God could pour out enough to drown me (and then some!), but never run out, or even run low! His grace has no end, which is why He can give, and give, and give. I realized that this extra Grace was not being wasted. It was, in fact, giving testimony to the great generosity of God to my poor, feeble soul. Any of what God does is never, EVER wasted. My frantically trying to conserve the infinite must have made God smile. He knows my heart, and my love of Holy Things, but this Holy Thing is His to pour out at will, and I pray for the Grace to accept His generosity in all things!

Overflow In Me!

About Mary's Ghillie

Why Mary's? Because she is the best example of how to live a life worthy of Christ. Why Ghillie? It's an old Celtic word for servant. I'm Mary's Ghillie!

Posted on April 3, 2013, in Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Interesting, I think we all struggle with understanding God’s infinity at some point in our lives, but the idea of ‘Grace like Rain’ makes it easier to understand.
    That nothing is wasted speaks to me in that it’s another reason that declares our worth.
    Another great post, my dear! :]

    • Thank you! The idea of ‘grace like rain’ helped me quite a bit, too. It amazes me how God can literally give everything He has to each one of us, because there is no end to what He has. He’s amazing!

What are your thoughts?

